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Notice to Readers 

This report provides brief highlights of new laws affecting children enacted during the 2017 regular 

session. Each summary indicates the Public Act (PA) number and effective date. This report does 

not include all of the acts’ provisions. Complete summaries of all 2017 public acts will be available 

on OLR’s webpage: https://www.cga.ct.gov/olr/actsaffecting.asp 

 

Readers are encouraged to obtain the full text of public acts that interest them from the 

Connecticut State Library, House Clerk's Office, or General Assembly’s website: 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/.  

 

A number of new laws affect schools and students. Please refer to Acts Affecting Education for 

these new laws. For purposes of brevity, this report uses the following acronyms for state agencies:  

CSSD (judicial branch’s Court Support Services Division)  

DCF (Department of Children and Families)  

DPH (Department of Public Health) 

DSS (Department of Social Services)  

OEC (Office of Early Childhood)  

SDE (State Department of Education) 
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Children’s Health 

Conversion Therapy 

A new law prohibits a health care provider, or anyone else while engaged in trade or commerce, 

from practicing or administering “conversion therapy” (i.e., any practice or treatment that seeks to 

change a minor’s sexual orientation or gender identity). The act specifies certain types of 

counseling that are not considered conversion therapy, such as counseling intended to assist a 

person undergoing gender transition or facilitate a person’s identity exploration. 

 

The act also prohibits public funds from being spent for conversion therapy or related actions (PA 

17-5, effective upon passage).  

 

DPH Birth Defect Surveillance Program 

By law, specified licensed health providers must report to DPH within 48 hours after learning a child 

has a birth defect.  A new law limits the population for which this information must be reported to 

children under age one born in Connecticut, instead of all children under age five.  It also makes 

various other changes to the department’s birth defect surveillance programs regarding (1) birth 

defect screening requirements, (2) notification requirements for licensed health care professionals, 

(3) DPH access to infants’ hospital discharge records, (4) confidentiality of information collected 

pertaining to the program, and (5) record keeping and research requirements (PA 17-146, § 13, 

effective October 1, 2017).  

 
DPH Equipment Purchases for Children with Disabilities 

A new law allows DPH, or the department's contractor, to purchase medically necessary and 

appropriate durable medical equipment and other DPH-approved goods and services for children 

with disabilities. Services must be identical to those goods and services covered by the state's 

Medicaid and HUSKY programs and payment cannot exceed the current Medicaid payment rate for 

these goods and services.  

 

Prior law allowed DPH to purchase, within available appropriations, wheelchairs and certain other 

equipment for children with disabilities without going through the Department of Administrative 

Services' normal purchasing procedures, provided (1) the cost of an individual item did not exceed 

$6,500 and (2) purchases were made on the open market and, when possible, through competitive 

bidding (PAs 17-202, § 73 and 17-146, § 12, both effective October 1, 2017). 

 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2017&bill_num=5
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2017&bill_num=5
../../olrusers/DwyerK/word/Commercial%20Sexual%20Abuse%20of%20a%20Minorhttps:/www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2017&bill_num=146
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2017&bill_num=202
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2017&bill_num=7222
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High Risk Newborns 

A new law requires the DCF commissioner to implement policies and procedures in accordance with 

federal law to secure the health, safety, and well-being of infants identified at birth as being 

affected by drug abuse, withdrawal symptoms related to prenatal drug or alcohol exposure, or fetal 

alcohol spectrum disorder.  

 

The policies and procedures must advance these infants' best interests and include (1) securing 

substance use treatment for the infants, their mothers, and other caregivers and (2) ensuring that 

the infants grow up in substance-use-free homes (PA 17-210, effective upon passage).  

 

Newborn Screening for Congenital Heart Disease 

By law, all health care institutions caring for newborn infants must test them for critical congenital 

heart disease, unless their parents object on religious grounds. Starting January 1, 2018, a new law 

requires the health care institution's administrator to enter the screening test results into DPH's 

newborn screening system for genetic and metabolic disorders (PA 17-146, § 14, effective October 

1, 2017). 

 

Prescription Supply for Minors 

A new law generally reduces, from a seven-day supply to a five-day supply, the maximum amount of 

an opioid drug a practitioner may prescribe to a minor (PA 17-131, § 5, effective July 1, 2017). 

 

Child Protection and Welfare 

Child Abuse and Neglect Investigations 

By law, DCF must take certain steps regarding investigations of alleged child abuse or neglect by a 

public or private school or child care facility employee. Under a new law, the commissioner must 

notify the agency responsible for credentialing (1) the employee or (2) his or her employer, of the 

investigation results if the employee DCF investigated has a state license or certificate or State 

Board of Education permit or authorization or his or her employer has a state license or approval.  

 

The new law requires DCF to also provide investigation records to agencies responsible for 

credentialing (1) a public school employee who was investigated and (2) the school where he or she 

is employed. Existing law requires this only for entities that credential (1) public and private child 

care facilities and private schools and (2) employees of those facilities. 

  

 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2017&bill_num=6997
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2017&bill_num=7222
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2017&bill_num=131
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The law, unchanged by the new legislation, requires DCF to notify, within certain timeframes, (1) the 

education commissioner and employing superintendent of the results of an investigation into 

alleged abuse or neglect by a school employee and provide related records and (2) private schools 

and public and private childcare facilities of the results of an investigation into alleged abuse or 

neglect by employees or staff members (PA 17-81, effective July 1, 2017). 

 

Children’s Advocacy Centers and Multidisciplinary Teams 

A new law defines a children's advocacy center for purposes of assisting multidisciplinary teams 

that investigate alleged child abuse, neglect, or trafficking. It specifies that one purpose of 

multidisciplinary teams is to protect abused, neglected, or trafficked children and their families, 

rather than just the children, as under prior law.  

 

The act adds to the individuals who must be included in a multidisciplinary team a forensic 

interviewer and child advocate, who must be designated by team members. Among other things, 

the act also specifies certain actions the state chapter of the National Children's Alliance and 

multidisciplinary teams may take (PA 17-190, effective July 1, 2018).  

 

Civil Protection Orders 

By law, victims of sexual abuse, sexual assault, or stalking may obtain civil protection orders if they 

are not eligible for civil restraining orders (i.e., if the alleged perpetrator is not a family or household 

member).  

 

Under existing law, a civil protection order applicant must submit an affidavit to the court stating, 

under oath, the specific facts of the case. A new law allows the applicant to ask the court, on a form 

prescribed by the Chief Court Administrator, to keep his or her location confidential if the applicant  

attests that disclosing this information would jeopardize the health, safety, or liberty of the 

applicant or his or her children (PA 17-99, § 1, effective October 1, 2017).  

 

DCF Investigation Protocols 

A new law requires the DCF commissioner to establish certain specified protocols for investigating 

and responding to reports of abuse or neglect of children from birth to age three (e.g., appropriate 

DCF staff visits to these children).  

 

It also expands the circumstances in which DCF must perform certain investigations related to child 

abuse and neglect proceedings. Under existing law, a child's parent or guardian may ask DCF to 

investigate placing the child or youth with a relative as a licensed foster parent or temporary 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2017&bill_num=893
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2017&bill_num=7112
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2017&bill_num=99
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custodian before a preliminary hearing in a child abuse or neglect case.  The new law requires DCF 

to investigate any such relative before the preliminary hearing, rather than requiring it to do so only 

when practicable (PA 17-92, effective July 1, 2017). 

 

DCF Records Disclosures 

The bill adds to the list of entities to whom DCF, under certain circumstances, is either required or 

permitted to disclose its records without the subject's consent. For example, it requires DCF to 

disclose its records without such consent to DPH when the DCF commissioner places a DPH-

licensed or –certified individual on the child abuse or neglect registry (PA 17-81, § 1, effective July 

1, 2017).  

 

DCF Reporting Requirements 

A new law requires DCF to include in the preliminary report it submits to the court in a child abuse 

and neglect proceeding any potential barriers to licensing a relative as a foster parent or granting 

him or her temporary custody of the child. 

 

Under the new law, if DCF places a child in out-of-home care based on alleged abuse or neglect, it 

must include in any report information about the safety and suitability of the child's or youth's 

placement, the child’s needs, and a timeline to ensure those needs are met.  This information must 

be submitted (1) within 90 days of the child's placement in out-of-home care, (2) if the placement 

changes, and (3) if the commissioner files a permanency plan on behalf of the child. The court must 

consider the information when making decisions affecting the child's or youth's well-being (PA 17-

92, effective July 1, 2017). 

 

DCF Subsidies 

Under certain circumstances, DCF may provide subsidies to (1) parents who adopt children with 

special needs and (2) relative caregivers acting as foster parents. A new law makes changes to the 

statutes governing these subsidies by, among other things, (1) eliminating the Subsidy Review 

Board and instead giving recipients aggrieved by a DCF subsidy decision the opportunity for an 

administrative hearing and (2) permitting, rather than requiring, DCF to provide subsidies for youths 

age 18 through 20 who fulfill certain requirements (PA 17-81, effective July 1, 2017). 

 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2017&bill_num=895
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2017&bill_num=81
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2017&bill_num=895
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2017&bill_num=895
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2017&bill_num=893
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Incarcerated Child Support Obligors 

A new law shortens the child support modification process when certain obligors (i.e., people owing 

child support) are institutionalized or incarcerated for more than 90 days. Under the new law, the 

obligor's existing support order is suspended and reinstated 90 days after his or her release. Under 

prior law, a court order modification or reinstatement required a full judicial hearing (PA 17-57, 

effective October 1, 2017).  

 

Newborn Safe Havens 

The legislature made various changes to the state's newborn safe haven law, which requires 

hospitals to designate a place in their emergency rooms where a parent or a parent's legal agent 

can surrender an infant up to 30 days old without facing arrest for abandonment (CGS § 17a-57 et 

seq.).  Some of the changes include: 

 

1. requiring DCF to identify a prospective adoptive parent for a safe haven infant within one 

business day of receiving notice of the infant's surrender to the hospital if such a parent is 

available and 

2. limiting the circumstances in which DCF may remove a safe haven infant from a prospective 

adoptive parent's home if the infant has been in his or her care for at least 30 days and 

giving the prospective adoptive parent the opportunity for a hearing before the removal (PA 

17-18, effective July 1, 2018). 

 

Police Training on Autism Spectrum and Nonverbal Learning 

Disorders 

A new law requires police officers to receive training in techniques for handling incidents, such as 

wandering, that involve juveniles with autism spectrum disorder or nonverbal learning disorder. The 

requirement applies only if the curriculum for such techniques is available at no cost to the Division 

of State Police from (1) higher education institutions, health care professionals, or advocacy 

organizations concerned with juveniles who have these disorders or (2) a collaboration of such 

institutions, professionals, or organizations (PA 17-166, effective October 1, 2017). 

 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2017&bill_num=7131
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_319.htm#sec_17a-57
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_319.htm#sec_17a-57
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2017&bill_num=7121
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2017&bill_num=7121
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2017&bill_num=166


2017-R-0126 July 12, 2017 Page 9 of 12 
 

Courts and Criminal Law 

Commercial Sexual Abuse of a Minor 

A new law repeals the class C felony penalty for patronizing a prostitute for conduct that involves a 

minor but imposes stricter penalties for “commercial sexual abuse of a minor,” a new crime the law 

creates. Under the new law, commercial sexual abuse of a minor is a (1) class B felony if the victim 

is age 15, 16, or 17 and (2) class A felony if the victim is age 14 or younger (PA 17-32, §§ 3 & 4, 

effective October 1, 2017). 

 

Counsel’s Access to Records 

Another new law requires counsel in certain juvenile court proceedings, once appointed or 

assigned, to be granted immediate access to (1) certain records related to the child without 

securing further releases and (2) the child to consult with him or her privately. The related records 

include (1) DSS records and (2) medical, mental health, substance abuse treatment, law 

enforcement, and educational records. 

 

Under this legislation, counsel must be granted access if a competent witness has accused the 

child's parent or guardian of abusing the child or causing the child to be neglected or uncared for. 

By law, attorneys who represent children in juvenile court must be granted access to related court 

and DCF records (CGS §§ 17a-28(g)(3) and 46b-124(b)) (PA 17-119, effective October 1, 2017). 

 

Regional Children's Probate Courts 

A new law allows regional children's probate courts and probate courts that are not located in a 

region served by a regional children's probate court to employ "family specialists" (formerly "probate 

court officers") if the Probate Court Budget Committee authorizes them to do so.  The new law 

specifies various job functions for family specialists, including conducting conferences with parties, 

their attorneys, DCF representatives, and social service providers; facilitating the development of 

family plans and visitation plans; helping families access community services; and filing specific 

reports with the court (PA 17-136, §§ 3-6, effective October 1, 2017). 

 

Victim Compensation 

A new law expands the powers and duties of the judicial branch's Office of Victim Services (OVS). 

Among other things, it allows OVS to award up to an additional $5,000 above the maximum 

$15,000 personal injury award for certain child victims.  Under the new law, the additional amount 

is allowed if the victim is a minor who has additional medical or mental health counselling needs at 

the time the application for compensation or financial restitution is filed. 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2017&bill_num=32
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_319.htm#sec_17a-28
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_815t.htm#sec_46b-124
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2017&bill_num=6741
http://cgalites/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2017&bill_num=136
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In determining victim compensation, OVS must consider the amount a victim receives from other 

sources, including health insurance.  The new law allows OVS to waive the consideration of health 

insurance as a collateral source in a domestic violence, sexual assault, or child abuse case where  

the victim or the claimant believes that the disclosure of treatment information associated with a 

health insurance claim would cause undue harm (PA 17-99, §§ 25 & 28, effective October 1, 

2017). 

 

Juvenile Justice 

Juvenile Records 

A new law expands access to juvenile records in delinquency matters by giving victims the right to 

obtain specified information without a court order, such as the name and address of the child who 

committed the crime and the child's parents or guardian.  The new law also (1) creates a process by 

which a party may object to the release of such information and (2) specifies other information that 

the court may release and factors it must consider before doing so.   

 

The new law allows the victim to use the information in a subsequent civil action for damages 

related to the child's delinquent act. However, the victim must not disclose this information further 

unless authorized by the court (PA 17-99, §§ 2 & 3, effective October 1, 2017). 

 

“Sexting” 

The legislature passed a new law subjecting children age 12 or younger who commit certain acts 

involving possessing or transmitting child pornography (“sexting”) to misdemeanor, rather than 

felony, charges. Under prior law, such acts were class A misdemeanors if the sender was (1) the 

subject of the depiction and (2) between ages 13 through 15 and the recipient was between ages 

13 through 17. Individuals who did not fall within these age ranges were subject to felony charges 

for such acts and, if convicted, sex offender registration.  

 

Under the new law, the conduct is a class A misdemeanor when the recipient is under age 18 and 

sender is (1) under age 16 and (2) the subject of the depiction (PA 17-25, effective October 1, 

2017).  

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2017&bill_num=99
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2017&bill_num=99
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2017&bill_num=6002
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Miscellaneous 

Child Restraint Systems (Car Seats) 

A new law strengthens motor vehicle child restraint system (car seat) requirements for children. It 

increases the threshold age or weight at which a child must be placed in a Department of Motor 

Vehicles-approved rear-facing car seat from age one or less than 20 pounds to age two or less than 

30 pounds. It increases, from six to seven, the maximum age at which children must be secured in 

certain types of child restraints, including booster seats, and requires that all child restraints be 

equipped with a five-point harness (PA 17-230, § 11, effective October 1, 2017). 
 

Income Withholding of Workers’ Compensation Benefits 

By law, when an employee subject to an income withholding order for child support makes a claim 

for workers’ compensation benefits, his or her employer must promptly notify the dependent (i.e., 

spouse, former spouse, or child owed the support) or the judicial branch's Support Enforcement 

Services as directed. A new law requires employers to also include a copy of the income withholding 

order with the first report of occupational illness or injury to the workers' compensation carrier. 

Under the act, the carrier must withhold funds pursuant to the order and pay the withheld funds to 

DSS' Office of Child Support Services (PA 17-27, effective January 1, 2018). 

 

Legal Protections for People Who Render Emergency Assistance to 

Children 

Under certain circumstances, a new law provides an affirmative defense against civil damages or 

criminal penalties to someone who enters another person's motor vehicle, including by the use of 

force, to remove a child who he or she reasonably believes is in imminent danger of serious bodily 

injury.  

 

The affirmative defense provided under the new law is in addition to defenses or immunities 

available under federal, state, and common law but does not apply to acts or omissions constituting 

gross, willful, or wanton negligence. Under this legislation, a person may still be liable for civil 

damages if he or she attempts to provide aid to the child beyond the authorized actions (PA 17-

134, effective October 1, 2017). 

 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/2017/ACT/pa/pdf/2017PA-00230-R00HB-07055-PA.pdfhttps:/www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2017&bill_num=32
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2017&bill_num=7037
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2017&bill_num=7080
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2017&bill_num=7080
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Marriage of Minors 

A new law (1) prohibits anyone under age 16 from receiving a marriage license and (2) narrows the 

circumstances in which such a license may be issued to a 16- or 17-year-old. 

 

Under prior law, a 16- or 17-year-old could be issued a marriage license with the written consent of 

the minor's parent or guardian. If the minor was under age 16, he or she also needed the written 

consent of the probate judge where he or she lived. Under the new law, an individual under age 16 

may not be issued a marriage license. A 16- or 17-year-old may only get one if the probate court 

where the minor resides approves a petition filed on the minor's behalf by his or her parent or 

guardian. The court may only approve such a petition following a hearing and if certain conditions 

are satisfied. 

 

Under existing law, unchanged by the act, emancipated minors are not subject to these restrictions. 

(By law, a minor must be at least age 16 to be emancipated) (PA 17-54, effective October 1, 2017).  

 

State Oversight of School Bus Company Driver Monitoring 

A new law requires the motor vehicles commissioner to ensure that school bus companies are 

fulfilling their duty to review the commissioner’s periodic reports on drivers who have had their 

licenses withdrawn, suspended, or revoked. The law authorizes the commissioner to do this by 

conducting random compliance audits of bus companies to determine whether a company is 

performing the required review and otherwise complying with the law.  The new law does not 

change the existing provision that subjects bus companies to civil penalties if they fail to review the 

commissioner’s suspension reports (PA 17-68, § 15, effective July 1, 2017). 

 

KD:bs 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2017&bill_num=54
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2017&bill_num=1014

